Building with street sign Building with street sign

About our Commissioners

David Isaac CBE (Chair)

David is a partner at law firm Pinsent Masons and was previously Chair of Stonewall from 2003 to 2012. He is also Chair of Modern Art Oxford, a Director of the Big Lottery Fund and a Trustee of 14-18 Now. David was awarded a CBE in the 2011 Queen’s Birthday Honours list for services to equality and diversity.

Caroline Waters (Deputy Chair)

Currently Vice President of Carers UK and Founder and CEO of CW Consulting Box, Caroline Waters was also Director of People and Policy at BT and has a distinguished record on equality, inclusion, and human resources, and has been the driving force of many diversity-focused groups. She chaired, for example, Employers for Carers from 2001 to 2013, was founder and inaugural Chair of the Employers' Forum on Belief, and Chair of the Lone Parents working group. She was awarded HR Director of the Year in the 2009 HR Excellence Awards and has also judged a number of prestigious diversity awards including the CRE Race in the Media Awards and Help the Aged's Living Legends. She was awarded the OBE for services to diversity and equal opportunities in the New Year's list in 2010. She is a Director of Roffey Park and a member of the Whole Education Board.

June Milligan (Wales Commissioner)

June draws her experience and insight from a wide range of leadership roles in public service, including as a Governor in long-term and maximum security prisons, as a Diplomat representing the UK to the European institutions in Brussels, as a Ministerial policy adviser and Principal Private Secretary and a Board member of the devolved Government in Wales.

Currently June is a Commissioner with the Civil Service Commission and a lay member of the governing body of the University of Glasgow.

Dr Lesley Sawers (Scotland Commissioner)

Lesley is currently Executive Chair of GenAnalytics Ltd, a specialist analytical and market insights consultancy focused on business performance improvement linked to equality and diversity in the workplace.

Previously Lesley was Vice Principal and Pro Vice Chancellor for Business, Enterprise and Innovation at Glasgow Caledonian University and Chief Executive of the Scottish Council for Development and Industry. She has also held senior leadership positions at Scottish Power, Royal Mail, CACI, Glasgow Chamber of Commerce and VisitScotland.

She holds a number of senior public appointments with a focus on equalities, social justice and economic growth. She is Deputy Chair of the Scottish Environmental Protection Agency, a Trustee of Glasgow Life and a Non-Executive Board Member of Glasgow City Marketing Bureau. She is also past Chair of Action for Children (Scotland).

Susan Johnson OBE

Susan Johnson was, until her retirement in July 2015, Chief Executive at County Durham and Darlington Fire and Rescue Service, where she was the first woman and non-uniformed chief executive to lead a Fire and Rescue Service in the United Kingdom. She previously held a senior position in the Regional Development Agency for Yorkshire and Humber following a career in international marketing in the information technology sector. Susan was awarded an OBE in 2000 for services to New Deal in the North East, and has held a number of non-executive and trustee roles in the private, public and not for profit sectors including Greggs plc, Legacy Trust UK and Durham University.

Lorna McGregor

Lorna McGregor is a Professor in the Law School and Director of the Human Rights Centre at the University of Essex. She is the Principal Investigator and Co-Director of an Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) large grant on technology, big data and human rights; the Principal Investigator of a Nuffield-funded project on the role of national human rights institutions in complaints handling; a co-investigator on an ESRC-funded project on utilising big data in the practice of torture survivors' rehabilitation and a co-investigator on a British Academy Newton Fund grant on the effects of international human rights law on public international law and its sub-branches. She is the co-chair of an expert group of academics and human rights practitioners on the review of the standard minimum rules for the treatment of prisoners led by the Human Rights Centre and Penal Reform International. She is also a co-chair of the European Society of International Law interest group on human rights and the International Law Association’s study group on individual responsibility in international law. Prior to becoming an academic, she was the International Legal Advisor at REDRESS and a programme lawyer at the International Bar Association. She holds an LLM (Hons First Class) from Edinburgh Law School and an LLM from Harvard Law School.

Professor Swaran Singh

Professor Swaran Singh is Head of Division, Mental Health and Wellbeing, at the University of Warwick. He is also an honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at Birmingham and Solihull Mental Health Foundation Trust as well as Hub Lead of the Mental Health Research Network (MHRN) at the Heart of England Hub. He has worked within the NHS at clinical, academic and managerial levels and is an academic respected in his field, having written extensively on ethnicity and mental health. He has also engaged in voluntary work dealing with human rights abuses in India.

Rebecca Hilsenrath (Chief Executive)

Rebecca Hilsenrath was appointed Chief Legal Officer to the Equality and Human Rights Commission in March 2014. Prior to that, she was for five years CEO of LawWorks (the Solicitors Pro Bono Group), a national charity facilitating free legal advice to community groups and individuals in need. After graduating from Cambridge, Rebecca trained and practiced at Linklaters, and then moved to the Government Legal Service, where she held roles in the then Department for Education and Skills and in the Attorney General’s Office. Rebecca has also established two schools, set up the National Pro Bono Centre in Chancery Lane and has sat on the boards of a number of charities and advice agencies, including the Bar Pro Bono Unit and the Mary Ward Legal Centre. In 2012, she was listed by the Times among the 100 most influential lawyers in the country. She has four sons and a foster daughter and her hobbies include renovating a listed cottage in Snowdonia and writing e-novels.

Last updated: 08 May 2018