Assessment of the publication of equality objectives by English public authorities

Advice and Guidance

Who is this page for?

  • Public sector

Which countries is it relevant to?

    • England flag icon


    • |
    • Scotland flag icon


    • |
    • Wales flag icon


First published: 30 Aug 2013

assessment of the publication of equality objectives

This report sets out the findings of an assessment of how public authorities in England are publishing equality objectives. Data for the assessment was collected between September and December 2012. The Equality Act 2010 (the Act) replaced the race, disability and gender equality duties with the public sector equality duty (‘the equality duty’ or ‘the duty’) on 5 April 2011. The equality
duty covers nine protected characteristics which are set out in the Act.1

The equality duty applies to over 40,000 public authorities across Great Britain and relates to everything they do, including their decision-making, policy development, budget setting, procurement, service delivery and employment functions.

Download as PDF Download as Word Doc