New commissioners bring a wealth of experience

Published: 30 May 2018

Five new Commissioners will bring their skills and experience to the Equality and Human Rights Commission, the Government Equalities Office (GEO) announced today.

The new Commissioners are:

  • Suzanne Baxter
  • Pavita Cooper
  • Alasdair Henderson
  • Helen Mahy CBE
  • Mark McLane

Read biographies of the new Commissioners.

David Isaac, Chair of the Equality and Human Rights Commission, said:

"I’m thrilled to welcome our new Commissioners on board. They bring a wealth of experience both in terms of corporate knowledge as well as equality. I look forward to working with each of them to help shape the direction of the Commission and tackle the most pressing issues in our society."

Our Chair and Commissioners are public appointments made by the Minister for Women and Equalities. The latest round of appointments was announced by the Government Equalities Office today.

The Board of Commissioners is the highest level decision-making body in the organisation, responsible for the strategic oversight of the Commission.

Find out more about the Commission's governance.

Press contact details

For more press information contact the Commission's media office on:

0161 829 8102