Millennium Centre

Wales Committee

Setting our direction in Wales

With powers given to it under the 2006 Equality Act, the Wales Committee is a decision-making body that:

  • advises the Welsh Government and National Assembly for Wales
  • carries out research about equality and human rights in Wales
  • shares information and ideas
  • sets the direction of our work in Wales

The Committee is a catalyst for change in making Wales a fairer place, by bringing people together to share ideas and forge partnerships.

You can find out more about the Wales Committee’s work by reading the minutes of its meetings.

Meet the members of the Wales Committee

Alison Parken OBE (Acting Chair)

Alison is Senior Research Fellow in the Wales Centre for Public Policy at Cardiff University and has worked to support the promotion of equality through evidence-based policy and practice. Alison is chairing the Wales Committee while the appointment of a Wales Commissioner is under way.  

Rocio Cifuentes

Rocio is the Director of Ethnic Youth Support Team (EYST) an organisation supporting ethnic minority young people, individuals and communities across Wales.

Geraint Hopkins

Geraint Hopkins is Cabinet Member for Adult and Children’s Community Services for Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council. He is Chair of the National Adoption Service Governance Board and is the Deputy Spokesperson for the Welsh Local Government Association for Children’s Social Services.  

Martyn Jones

Martyn Jones has an extensive leadership background across both the public and third sectors and has been Chief Executive at Learning Disability Wales and Diverse Cymru. Martyn is an Independent Member of the South Wales Police and Crime Panel and sits as a Presiding Justice on the Mid Wales Bench. Martyn represents the Wales Committee on the Commission’s Disability Advisory Group.

Mark Sykes

Mark Sykes retired in 2017 after a 35-year career in Human Resources and Organisational Development in public and private sectors. He was formerly the Assistant Director for Organisational Development at Betsi Cadwaldr Heath Board. Mark volunteers with the homelessness charity Crisis.

Faith Walker

Faith has over 20 years’ experience working alongside communities. She is a qualified Youth and Community practitioner.

Nicola Williams 

Nicola is General Counsel and Company Secretary for Dŵr Cymru Welsh Water, a post she has held since 2012. Nicola is a trustee of a Citizens Advice Bureau and a member of South Wales Police’s Ethics Committee.

Declarations of interest

The governance framework sets out rules and guidance for Wales Committee Members on conflicts of interests, and we maintain a publicly available register of Committee Members' interests. Declarations of interests are available to download as Word documents, below.

Alison Parken: declaration of interests (Word)

Faith Walker: declaration of interests (Word)

Geraint Hopkins: declaration of interests (Word)

Mark Sykes: declaration of interests (Word)

Martyn Jones: declaration of interests (Word)

Nicola Williams: declaration of interests (Word)

Rocio Cifuentes: declaration of interests (Word)

Last updated: 03 Feb 2020