Millennium Centre

Wales Committee

Setting our direction in Wales

With powers given to it under the 2006 Equality Act, the Wales Committee is a decision-making body that:

  • advises the Welsh Government and National Assembly for Wales
  • carries out research about equality and human rights in Wales
  • shares information and ideas
  • sets the direction of our work in Wales

The Committee is a catalyst for change in making Wales a fairer place, by bringing people together to share ideas and forge partnerships.

You can find out more about the Wales Committee’s work by reading the minutes of its meetings.

Meet the members of the Wales Committee

Martyn Jones (Interim Chair)

Martyn is the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Manager at South Wales Police and has previously been the CEO of the charities Learning Disability Wales and Diverse Cymru. He represents the EHRC Wales Committee on the GB Disability Advisory Committee. Martyn is the Interim Chair of the Wales Committee while the appointment of a Wales Commissioner is under way.

Rocio Cifuentes

Rocio is the Director of Ethnic Youth Support Team (EYST) an organisation supporting ethnic minority young people, individuals and communities across Wales.

Geraint Hopkins

Geraint Hopkins is Cabinet Member for Adult and Children’s Community Services for Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council. He is Chair of the National Adoption Service Governance Board and is the Deputy Spokesperson for the Welsh Local Government Association for Children’s Social Services.  

Alison Parken OBE 

Alison is an Honorary Senior Research Fellow at the Business School, Cardiff University, and an independent research consultant. She was awarded an OBE for services to equality and diversity.

Grace Quantock

Grace Quantock is a psychotherapeutic counsellor, writer and non-executive director for Wye Valley NHS Trust and Social Care Wales.

Mark Sykes

Mark Sykes retired in 2017 after a 35-year career in Human Resources and Organisational Development in public and private sectors. He was formerly the Assistant Director for Organisational Development at Betsi Cadwaldr Heath Board. Mark volunteers with the homelessness charity Crisis.

Beth Thomas

Beth Thomas is Head of Partnerships and Programmes at The Big Issue, a Trustee of Street Football Wales and ELITE Supported Employment.

Faith Walker

Faith has over 25 years’ experiences in working alongside communities, a part of the Welsh Government ‘All Aboard’ and for two years a board member with Public Health Wales, currently consultant with FWConsultancy.

Declarations of interest

The governance framework sets out rules and guidance for Wales Committee Members on conflicts of interests, and we maintain a publicly available register of Committee Members' interests. Declarations of interests are available to download as Word documents, below.

Martyn Jones: declaration of interests (Word)

Rocio Cifuentes: declaration of interests (Word)

Geraint Hopkins: declaration of interests (Word)

Alison Parken: declaration of interests (Word)

Grace Quantock: declaration of interests (Word)

Mark Sykes: declaration of interests (Word)

Beth Thomas: declaration of interests (Word)

Faith Walker: declaration of interests (Word)

Last updated: 20 Jan 2021