Public authorities

New law in force

The Equality Act came into force on 1 October 2010. Some of the information on this page may be out of date.


Certain public authorities are exempt from equality legislation when providing judicial and legislative functions, and some education and immigration functions. Certain public institutions are also exempt, such as the House of Commons and the House of Lords, the Security Service and the Secret Intelligence Service, the Government Communications Headquarters or any part of the armed forces which is assisting it.

Find out more about public authorities’ legal responsibilities to promote equality and tackle discrimination.

back to top